Driving while intoxicated offenses are very common in the state of Texas. State officials estimate that a serious collision involving alcohol occurs every 20 minutes somewhere in Texas. In order to curtail the number of drunk driving crashes, the state takes a firm stance on DWI offenses. If you or a loved one are facing a DWI charge, don’t self-incriminate or get pushed into pleading guilty. Seek the advice of an experienced criminal defense attorney before doing anything else.
Texas penalties for DWI are severe
If your blood alcohol concentration is .08 percent or higher, the state of Texas considers you to be legally drunk, regardless of actual impairment. If you are convicted or plead guilty to your first DWI offense, you face between three and 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, revocation of your license for up to a year and hefty annual fees of $1,000 or $2,000 for the first three years after you regain your license.
Second offenses carry even steeper penalties. A second DWI conviction can cost you as much as $4,000 in fines, between a month and a year in jail, loss of your license for two years and three years of annual fees of $1,000 or $2,000 after that. A third offense can result in a $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in prison, loss of your license for two years and three years of fees following that. If your DWI offense involved child passengers under the age of 15, you face additional charges of child endangerment, a $10,000 fine and up to two years in jail.
An attorney understands how to build a robust DWI defense
Working with a public defender likely won’t be in your best interest. These overworked and underpaid public servants carry large caseloads. Consequently, they rarely have the necessary time and resources to devote to successful DWI defenses.
Your best defense against the life-altering consequences of a DWI conviction is to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Choose an attorney with proven results crafting viable defenses for clients. From exploring the field sobriety test to contesting a breath test result, an attorney can help you build a proactive defense to your DWI charge.
If you or someone you love is facing a DWI charge in Texas, working with an experienced defense attorney is your best option. They can review the details of your case to see what defensive strategies work best in your circumstances.